• February 17 (Sat) 2018   at 14:00 @ Hakuju Hall
    Mie Kobayashi Violin Recital
    “The Exuberant Legend of the Violin” 
    No. 1 ≪Da Vinci’s Labyrinth ≫•Mie Kobayashi plays the ultimate of unaccompanied repertoire

    Mie Kobayashi, Violin; Toshihiko Uraku, Navigator
    Heinrich Ignaz Franz von Biber: Passacaglia from the “Rosary Sonatas” 
    J. S. Bach: Chaconne from Partita for Solo Violin No. 2 BWV 1004 in d minor
    Eugène-Auguste Ysaÿe: Sonata for Solo Violin No. 2 op.27-2
    John Corigliano: Red Violin Caprice Other 
    Hakuju Hall Ticket Center, 03-5478-8700(Tuesday -Saturday 10:00~18:00 except for holidays and hall closing days)  

    (To all from Mie)
    I would like to have more of you know the fascination of the violin, let more and more people to listen, and feel and explore the music with me together.
The time when the violin had come to take the present shape coincided with the period when Leonardo da Vinci lived. Although there is no concrete documentation, I cannot imagine da Vinci was totally uninterested in violin. I feel quite excited to think somewhere in the process of the instrument’s development, brilliant wisdom of da Vinci had entered. What kind of tone must have been sounding within da Vinci’s head? Not striking, nor hitting, nor blowing, but rubbing the strings.
Everything comes alive again when I perform by rubbing the spirits of instrument makers, several hundred year‘s succession of players, and composers of the musical pieces. 
Now let us commence the new series!